Posted in London, Photography, Travel, Uncategorized

Photography project – Flower market

pilot8

I am currently working on a project for university where I have to produce a body of work by the end of the year, I can then extend this further as my major project to be completed by May of next year.

I have decided to work on a documentary piece depicting the journey of a flower. I started on my own journey by visiting New Covent Garden flower market in Vauxhall.

pilot14

pilot6

pilot4

pilot12

pilot7

Although I really admire fine art photos of flowers that concentrate on colour, detail and shape I am looking at the way they are packaged, lined up and moved around during this stage of being passed between grower and seller.

pilot1

pilot9

pilot2

pilot11

I really enjoyed my time at the market, there is a real buzz around the place and lots of energy for somewhere that operates between such early hours of the morning (4am – 10am) The market is split into companies that sell everything from freshly cut flowers to decorative items and is all under one roof.

Most of what is sold is for wholesale purposes but the market is open to the public if you wanted to have a look around and purchase for yourself, although it is recommended you come during the quieter hours of 8 – 10am and it is quite difficult to find on your first visit as there are no helpful signposts and you have to navigate past the busy car park.

I am hoping to go back and spend some more time at the market with one of the florists that has a workshop upstairs as well as visiting a farm that grows flowers and spending some time with a charity that makes bouquets for well deserving individuals out of flowers that have already been used at events.

I’m sure I will share updates with you as the project develops!

 

8 thoughts on “Photography project – Flower market

  1. I loved seeing this and how Unstaged the shots were made it better for me! I loved seeing the flowers from Holland. There’s a big chance my husband may have handled some of those flowers. He works in the flowers auction in Holland. We live in the flower region. Thank you for linking up to #PointShoot 📸

    Like

    1. Oh really, Are you near fields of flowers? I told somebody I was visiting a flower farm and they assumed I was going to Holland, would be lovely but I think I need to find one a bit closer to home!

      Like

Leave a comment