Posted in Lifestyle, Uncategorized

Currently reading

This is my latest reading pile and I cannot wait to get stuck in!

I have been on a bit of a spree on Amazon and have loads of books waiting for me so I hope to get through this lot, alongside my kindle downloads, within a few weeks at least. It shouldn’t be too hard as I am off on holiday for a week and plan to do nothing but read, sunbathe, eat, swim and sleep. I am definitely going to make the most of the relaxation as the new term and my new job start the day after we return.

Everything I Never Told You – As a favourite child, Lydia is expected to pursue all the dreams her parents were not able to but then her body is found in the local lake causing chaos and destroying the family. This book is described as a gripping page turner and a family portrait about love, lies and race. I haven’t really seen this book talked about even though it was released in 2014 and is a New York times bestseller, it sounds really interesting.

This Is Going To Hurt – 97 hour weeks, life and death decisions and a tsunami of bodily fluids. This book is the diary of Adam Kay, comedian and former Junior doctor revealing his experiences during the endless days and sleepless nights. I imagine this is going to be really enjoyable, particularly as it is written in diary form and comes from a personal perspective.

The Beach Wedding – Tessa has to face deadly ghosts from her past as she welcomes her daughter to the beach resort for her wedding where a previous experience had changed her life. I picked up a couple of these quick reads as they were only £1 and I am a great fan of Dorothy Koomson books, even though this seems a bit different from her usual reads.

How To Be Happy – After Annie has been sad for so long Polly has a hundred days to help her find happiness but is letting others in a risk worth taking? I know you should never judge a book by its cover but I have to admit that the fact it was so colourful and about being happy I couldn’t help myself but to buy it!

Keep You Safe – Kate and Madeline both have very different views on parenting but one of them makes a fateful decision that sees her being accused of being a terrible mother, should she be vilified or was she just trying to keep her children safe? The blurb on this book doesn’t give much away so I’m quite intrigued to see what actually happens!

 

I haven’t really got any psychological thrillers in my book pile so I have a couple on my phone and I also like self help books so thought I would try this classic to see if I can pick up some new productive habits.

I have so far read 23 out of 45 books for my yearly target which I think is pretty good even though I have to catch up a bit.

From my last reading post I loved Into the Darkest corner which jumped between Catherine’s past and present as she endured an abusive relationship and how she learnt to cope with the consequences. I also really enjoyed The Lost Swimmer which was a bit of a mystery even though it was a slow burner and The Queen and I was an amusing book, although hard to imagine the royal family actually living on a council estate. I wasn’t much of a fan of The Chocolate lovers diet, it started off well, getting to know each of the characters but turned into a bit of a diabetes inducing cheese fest with the amount of chocolate references and the way everything seemed to be predictable.

What do you currently have on your reading list?

14 thoughts on “Currently reading

  1. I’m reading ‘how to be happy’ at the moment, and if I’m honest I was pretty swayed to buy it by the colourful cover too! I’m enjoying it so far! x #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard good things about this is going to hurt. I am mostly reading thrillers at the moment, I love them.
    #KCACOLS

    Like

Leave a comment