Afternoon tea @ Chelsea harbour

344A5192

As somebody who loves to visit new places I was lucky enough to receive some lovely birthday presents from my family including a spa day with massage and facial which I am yet to use (it is booked for October) and vouchers for an afternoon tea for two at the Chelsea harbour hotel.

The Chelsea harbour hotel is situated close to the river Thames, a short walk from Imperial wharf station and is overlooking the affluent area of the imperial wharf marina.

344A5196

My daughter and I arrived early for our booking so had an opportunity to take a stroll around the area and along the river, we were surprised at just how empty it was with just a few other people around. With the sun shining and the sights of boats on water is felt like we were exploring the Mediterranean for the afternoon.

As we entered the hotel we were really impressed with the swanky interior and with it being equally as quiet as it was outside we were welcomed straight away by the nice waiter on the desk.

344A5182

344A5223

The waiter informed us that we had a table booked inside but as it was such a nice day he asked if we would prefer to dine on the balcony which was really sweet of him and although I don’t usually like eating outside on street level (yes I can be a snob sometimes) I couldn’t say no to the views of the marina on the balcony.

344A5201

We were first served with water followed by peach bellinis and then our platter of finger sandwiches, scones and cakes. While eating we were asked which tea we would like from a selection by Whittards.

It was nice to have everything delivered at once as we didn’t have to wait for anything the only problem was that the table became a bit of a squeeze! I really liked the presentation of the afternoon tea, the slate trays are very modern but it was accompanied by traditional, pretty china plates and cups.

344A5211

 

344A5210

344A5208

344A5205

344A5213

Whenever I see an afternoon tea they always look tasty but I never expect them to be filling…I was wrong! Jasmin couldn’t even finish her cakes and I struggled to get all mine down. The sandwiches were a nice variety with really soft bread and the freshly baked scones were the best I have tasted, don’t think I could go back to shop bought ones after those!

Although I am very much a coffee drinker I do like a cup of tea on occasion. I chose the piccadilly blend which had a subtle floral flavour while Jasmin went for the English Rose. One of us kept forgetting to use the tea strainer so ended up drinking the tea leaves (In the words of Shaggy – it wasn’t me)

344A5216

We probably spent around an hour at the hotel, the staff were very conscientious, constantly checking on us to see if everything was ok and we had a thoroughlyΒ  delightful afternoon.

I would love to try out afternoon tea at other venues, where is your favourite?

11 thoughts on “Afternoon tea @ Chelsea harbour

  1. Stunning setting – One of my temp agencies was located around there and I always felt super intimidated walking around in such a posh beautiful area. Your tea looks divine!
    #globalblogging

    Like

  2. Wow! What a view! Stunning photos – glad you enjoyed your birthday treat. And you have the spa day to look forward to next month as well! Yeay! Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope to see you again next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

