The rookery at Streatham common

Situated between Streatham and Norwood, Streatham common is a mass of green space that is hard to miss. I have lived in and around the area for over 20 years and so have spent a lot of time on the common. I have attended festivals, fun fairs, bonfire nights and even school sports days on the common and it is easy to forget that you are surrounded by busy roads, even more so if you venture up to the rookery.

344A4797

I imagine it is usually an oasis of calm strolling around the paths of the rookery but I attended on the last day of term when the children were chasing each other around with the buzz of the beginning of the summer holidays, I am surprised I managed to avoid capturing them whizzing by in my photos.

344A4801

344A4805

The rookery is filled with the colours of summer and has loads of seating areas to just sit around and enjoy the tranquillity.

344A4791

344A4785

344A4780

There were little pockets of water and you can see the tracks where they connected forming a stream, unfortunately it doesn’t seem to be running at the moment which is a shame as this would have made a lovely feature.

344A4798

I only ventured around the back paths, as it was so busy I avoided going to the rookery café but will definitely be going back over summer to explore further.

Leave a Reply

