Currently reading

344A4691

So far this year I have finished 15 out of my 45 book target on Goodreads so according to them I am 8 books behind (this may have something to do with my current obsession with Pretty Little Liars on Netflix) but I am determined to catch up over summer!

My recommendations from my last update are Sister Sister which is a real mystery, lots of twists and turns that keep the reader guessing! The couple next door was a good read, another thriller but not as much ofΒ a page turner as Behind closed doors. I found How not to fall in love actually dragged a bit but it was an easy read filled with humour and perfect for relaxing summer days in the garden.

Now onto the current selection…

I am a big fan of Jodi Picoult and always find her books really thought provoking. Small great things is about a black nurse working in a maternity ward where a baby of a racist man dies. I have just started this one and like how each chapter jumps between characters so you get to read from different points of view.

A thousand splendid suns is a book that has been on my to read list for many years so I was quite happy when I recently visited my mum and found it on her book shelf, looking forward to getting stuck in to this one.

On photography by Susan Sontag is a collection of essays and is the first book on the reading list when you start a photography degree. We looked at the first chapter in class but I never got round to finishing it so had to add it to my pile.

The Saturday supper club is one of the books that has been sitting on my shelf for years and I want to make sure I read those as well as buying new ones.

I didn’t have any thrillers on my reading pile so decided to add these two to my Kindle app to get my fix. Also I like to have books available on my Kindle to read if I’m out the house and don’t have any books on me.

What books are you reading?

 

13 thoughts on “Currently reading

  1. I don’t get as much time to read as I would like, so it’s great to find some ideas of books to read when I have some free time!

    #KCACOLS

    Like

  2. I have about five different books on the go at the minute, I really need to finish at least one this month. These ones sound great. I like having a mix of kindle and physical books. I always prefer holding a real book in my hands but I never get time to sit down and enjoy one. Having them in my kindle too means I can catch a quick 10 minute read every now and then if I’m waiting around for something x
    #GlobalBlogging

    Like

    1. I like to have a few books on the go at once mostly because I’m impatient and can’t wait to start a new one 😊 the kindle is great for reading on the go but I also find that the books are much cheaper on there too!

      Like

  3. Absolutely loved Small Great Things – I haven’t yet come across a Jodi Picoult novel that I haven’t loved and I’ve read a lot of them. This one was one of the most thought provoking though and really made me question my own outlook on things. Also loved A Thousand Splendid Suns, couldn’t put it down. I’m reading Liane Moriarty’s Truly Madly Guilty at the moment. Another goody. #KCACOLS

    Like

    1. I love Jodi’s books too! I read Lone wolf last year and didn’t find that as captivating as some of her other books but really enjoying Small great things so far. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

