Exhibit – Balham

My darling daughter recently turned 15 and with her birthday on a weekday we didn’t really plan any sort of celebration. She had already arranged to go out with her friends at the weekend and we were going to have a family meal or takeaway at home on the day. Birthdays have always been a big deal for Kyra, as soon as one is over she starts planning the next (This will soon wear off once she gets to the late 20s I’m sure) and she does enjoy being the centre of attention. After finishing school she was adamant that we all had to go out to celebrate her big day so I had the task of finding and booking a restaurant at short notice.

Restaurants are not cheap when you have a family of six so my first port of call was my Tastecard app. Not many restaurants offer a discount for six people either but then I came across Exhibit in Balham.

Exhibit looked like a really fun space, described as a youth club for adults, it features a bar, restaurant, cinema and hosts different events throughout the year.

344A3946

Situated just outside of Balham station (you can see it while standing on the platform) it is just a few stops on the train for us so I decided to book us a table. The lady on the phone was really friendly and happy to book us in at short notice.

On arrival I assumed that we would go to the restaurant section upstairs but we were told that it was closed and we had a table downstairs in the bar. I didn’t really mind this as it wasn’t too busy and seemed to have a nice vibe.

Décor

344A3921

The décor was fairly nice, it felt somewhere in between a café and a restaurant but there were a few shabby parts including a hole in the wall next to our table.

Food and drink

344A3922

344A3928

We ordered a range of items from the menu and unfortunately some were not available. My son had the chicken burger which looked delicious but my daughter ordered the gluten free version which disappointingly arrived with the bun substituted for two pieces of gluten free bread, this didn’t look very presentable and was also awkward to eat. I think if you are going to offer alternatives they should at least go with the dish you are serving.

344A3939

344A3942

344A3941

I decided to have the healthy option and went for the powerbowl which was surprisingly tasty, I did however get bored of the green parts after a while and shared the burger with my daughter! We would have liked to sample their desserts but we knew we had a big birthday cake waiting at home so gave them a miss.

We all enjoyed our meal at Exhibit and left feeling full. The waitress that served us was friendly and chatty and all the staff were really laid back. The bill came to around £90 including the tastecard discount which we felt was a bit pricey for what you get. We probably wouldn’t have a family meal there again but I have heard good reviews about their bottomless brunch, which includes unlimited prosecco, so may have to check that out next!

4 thoughts on “Exhibit – Balham

  1. Seems a bit of style over substance! My Mum eats out quite a bit in Balham as her best friend lives there but I’m not sure this is her kind of place anyway. I’m very surprised about the lack of gluten free burger bun as that’s just standard these days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

