Victoria & Albert museum

IMG_2324

Described as the worlds leading museum of Art and Design, the Victoria and Albert is definitely one of my favourites. I decided to go and visit to see if there were any new exhibitions within the photography and theatre and performance rooms plus it was also on my list of 10 places I wanted to visit and it’s always nice to tick some thing off a list!

There is so much amazing artwork and collections to see from Leonardo da Vinci’s notebooks to Jeanne Lanvin’s 1930s evening dresses. Even the building itself is a work of art!

IMG_2330IMG_2338

The photography section was the same as it was the last time I went with collections of work focused on the body. I am excited about future plans that were recently mentioned on the news about the V and A expanding to hold the worlds largest collection of the art of photography with over 400,000 pieces being transferred there.

IMG_2332IMG_2334

There was a new impressive installation in the performance room which was based on the Glastonbury festival.

The way the posters were haphazardly placed on the wall reflecting how they would have been placed in situ was quite novel considering that the rest of the museum is formally laid out and I really liked the map wall where people could write their memories and place it in the area that they happened. It was a great way with viewers to interact and share their experiences. The screened pyramid played footage so you could stand inside and pretend you were at a performance which was really clever, although I expect it was a lot smaller than the real thing!

IMG_2340IMG_2343

 

I’m sure there is so much I missed while I was there so I will probably return in the near future to explore more.

The museum itself is free but certain exhibitions within it have a fee. If you are planning a visit I would definitely recommend purchasing a map as it is easy to get lost or find specific sections. There is a lovely garden area situated in the middle of the museum if you fancy a picnic or coffee break and the shop is packed with interesting products to purchase. All in all a great day out but if you have younger children I would say the natural history and science museums situated across the road would be a lot more popular.

7 thoughts on “Victoria & Albert museum

  1. You have the best adventures!! I know it probably sounds so silly. But boy I would love to stand in one of those red telephone booths 🙂 Looks like you are having so much fun with your photography! xxx #globalblogging

    Like

    1. Aww thank you, I think having the blog is a great encouragement to get out and explore! 😁 As much as the phone booths look pretty an all you probably wouldn’t want to go inside one, they are used more as a toilet than they are for phone calls 🙄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

