The British Museum

I am surprised I have never been to the British museum before, especially as it has been the most visited attraction in the UK for the past ten years!

_IMG3902

I went to look at some specific artefacts for a project I’m working on and didn’t have time to stick around but I was really taken by the sheer size and architecture of the main courtyard and understand why it is so popular.

_IMG3929

The museum takes you on a tour around different regions of the world looking at centuries worth of art and culture. I went in the middle of the afternoon on a school day and understandably it was full of school children, probably learning about topics such as the Romans or the Egyptians. I would recommend if you are looking for a peaceful stroll around then you go later in the day.

_IMG3909_IMG3904

As a bit of a book junkie I probably could have spent most of my time just looking around the shop which is situated in the middle of the courtyard and follows it around seeming to never end.

There is plenty of space to sit and relax with a café to grab a bite to eat. If you are looking for more fine dining there is a restaurant situated right under the great rooftop.

I didn’t get to see many of the amazing things on show and definitely plan to go back for another look around. I would particularly like to see the Rosetta stone which is inscribed with ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs and created in 196 BC.

Have you ever visited the British museum?

12 thoughts on “The British Museum

    1. It seems to have materials and artefacts from lots of eras and lots of places around the world that are part of the permanent collection but there are special exhibitions of current work, I think these are usually paid for exhibitions though.

      Like

  1. We have visited I agree it’s pretty vast and the architecture is impressive. The food in the cafe is absolutely to die for and so worth the London price tag. Defo return. Love museums. Cheap day out.

    #KCACOLS

    Like

Leave a Reply

