Honky Tonk – Clapham

Honky tonk is an American style restaurant in the heart of Clapham Common, situated right opposite the tube station.

_img2241

I visited Honky Tonk in the afternoon to see what was offer on their lunch menu, and the experience was very different to when I had previously been in the evening where there was a really lively atmosphere.

As a Tastecard user I am always on the lookout for participating restaurants as it makes eating out so much more accessible, especially for larger families! And the 2 for 1 offer is great for a lunchtime date with the other half.

_img2255_img2242

The restaurant has both inside and outside eating spaces. It is situated is a busy high street with heavy traffic, this obviously doesn’t bother some people and most of the customers on the day we visited chose to sit outside, this meant we had pretty much the whole restaurant to ourselves. I’m sure later in the day it would get much busier but I quite liked eating in peace and the American theme décor adds a nice touch!

Luckily we were not in a rush when we visited as, even though there were not many customers, our food seemed to take ages to arrive. We are quite predictable when we go out, the man orders anything meaty…steak or ribs and I always choose a burger, although I am trying to be a bit more adventurous and went for sweet potato fries instead of normal ones!

_img2254_img2249

Unfortunately by the time our food arrived it was more luke warm than hot. I am not one to complain and as I was starving by this time I just tucked in, but the man likes his food piping hot and called over the waitress to inform her. They were quick to replace his food explaining they think the lift that delivers the food from the kitchen got jammed on it’s way down. We were offered a drink of our choice for the inconvenience of waiting and opted for the butterscotch milkshakes that were served in milk bottles.

_img2246

The food was pleasant and the milkshakes were really tasty and filling which meant we didn’t need to order dessert afterwards. It was a nice relaxed lunch and the staff were very apologetic about the food being cold, although I do wonder how they didn’t check on the food to see why it was taking so long as they obviously saw us waiting?

I would definitely eat out at Honky Tonk again as I do enjoy their food but I think I prefer it in the evening (and it is more acceptable to order the 2 for 1 cocktails at that time!) The price is very reasonable and I think it was around £25 with the service charge and the Tastecard discount for two of us.

Have you visited Honky Tonk? What was your experience like?

 

 

18 thoughts on “Honky Tonk – Clapham

  1. It is rather annoying when your food arrives cold or lukewarm. But those butterscotch milkshakes do sound yummy! I used to be a Tastecard user but found that I wasn’t making enough use of it to make the annual fee worthwhile. #GlobalBlogging

    Like

  2. I love the look of the ribs – they look delicious. I have a thing about food having to be hot too! At least they offered you a complimentary drink.

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday x

    Like

  3. Luke warm food is always so disappointing – I tend to just eat it really quickly rather than complain. I’m glad you got that sorted out.
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

    Like

  4. Aw that’s nice they brought some hot food and the milkshakes sound delish! I’ll have to check this place out, I’m not too far from Clapham ; ). Thanks for the lovely review and sharing with #GlobalBlogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

